New Board Members!

September 29, 2021 / Comments Off on New Board Members!

Blog Featured Membership Membership News MNA News

Unanimously voted in by a virtual quorum of MNA members, we are thrilled to welcome four new and dynamic nonprofit leaders to MNA’s Board of Directors. Please learn more about these fantastic individuals below.

Amy Sings in the Timber, Montana Innocence Project

Amy Sings In The Timber is an advocate and community builder with over a dozen years of nonprofit leadership experience and more than 20 years of professional commitment to advancing social and racial justice and human rights issues. 

Over the past two decades, Amy has developed and supported access to justice and legal aid programs designed to address disparities in our justice system and promote the rule of law.  She works with communities to identify and break down barriers to equal justice, and develop solutions to complex societal and institutional challenges.   In addition to promoting an equitable and accessible justice system, Amy’s policy and development work includes advocating for trauma informed continuums of care, sustainable stable housing models, and economic and educational advancement opportunities for marginalized and disenfranchised peoples. 

Amy serves as the Executive Director of the Montana Innocence Project, a legal aid organization dedicated to freeing innocent people from incarceration and preventing wrongful convictions.  Previously, Amy served as the Executive Director of the Montana Justice Foundation, and in senior leadership roles with The Chicago Bar Foundation and Covenant House Illinois. 

Amy received her law degree from the University of Montana School of Law (now Alexander Blewett III School of Law) in 2005. 

Angie Main, NACDC Financial Services

Andrea (Angie) Main has been the Executive Director of Native American Community Development Corporation (NACDC) Financial Services, Inc. since 2011.  In that capacity she is the co-founder of the organization which encourages economic development and enhances the quality of life for communities and residents located on or near Montana’s Indian Reservations. 

She has experience in administration, contracts, grants management, and small business development in Indian Country.  She is the former Executive Director for the Montana Tribal Business Information Network, Project Coordinator for the Rural Development & Finance Corporation’s Native American Initiative and Vice President of the former Fort Belknap Tribal College.  She served on the Board of Directors for the Indian Land Capital Corporation, Montana Indian Education Association, Montana Women’s Capital Fund and the Montana Financial Education Coalition. 

Angie received the Visionary Leader Award for Outstanding Achievement in 2017.  She received her Bachelor’s Degree from Montana State University/Northern and a Professional Economic Development Finance Certification from the National Development Council. 

Angie is a member of the Fort Belknap Gros Ventre Tribe of Montana. 

Jesse Mahugh, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Helena and Great Falls

Jesse Mahugh was hired as the new President/CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Helena and Great Falls in May of 2020. Mahugh’s first involvement with Big Brothers Big Sisters began over a decade ago when he heard a former Little share at a United Way luncheon about how the program had impacted their life for the better and helped them a achieve a stronger future. Jesse quickly signed up to become a Big. 

Most recently, Mahugh served as the Director of Development of Flathead Valley Community College Foundation where he is a distinguished alum. Prior to that, Mahugh served as the Executive Director of Big Brothers Big Sisters of Flathead County, where he partnered with the board of directors to double the organization’s budget and staff. Jesse also served on the Nationwide Leadership Council with Big Brothers Big Sisters of America and as vice president of the state BBBS State Federation. 

Jesse graduated from the University of Montana with a master’s degree in public administration and a B.A in Political Science. Prior to that he attended Flathead Valley Community College in Kalispell. 

With a background in fundraising, volunteer management, and nonprofit administration, Mahugh is passionate about building community support behind a mission that makes a long-term difference.   

Nancy Schlepp, Sandfire Resources America

Nancy Schlepp, the VP of Communications and Corporate Secretary for Sandfire Resources America, Inc.(SFR) has worked for the publicly traded Company since 2013. Nancy has over 25 years of experience in the business world having worked in the private sector, publicly traded sector, international trade, communications, legislative relations, and public policy at the local, state, and federal level. Before joining SFR, Nancy was the Executive Director of the Montana Taxpayers Association and prior to that was the National Affairs Director for the Montana Farm Bureau Federation.  

Previous civic and volunteer positions include being a Meagher County Commissioner, past President of the Montana Business Assistance Connection (MBAC), Co-Chair of Gov. Gianforte’s DNRC/DEQ Transition Advisory Board, advisor on Governor Bullock’s Main Street Key Industry Network Committee for Natural Resources, and a graduate of Leadership Montana.  

Nancy currently volunteers on the steering committee of Women Leading Montana, the board of directors for the Montana Chamber, the executive board for the Montana Taxpayers Association, the Meagher County Community Foundation, and as chairwoman of the Meagher County Planning Board. She has a BS from Montana State University and grew up on a cattle ranch near Ringling, MT. 

Nancy and her husband Chris still own and operate the family ranch at Ringling and have 3 children; Sarah (23), Ethan (18), and Dawson (14). In her spare time, she loves gardening and camping with her family.    

Interested in Board Service with MNA?

If you’re interested in serving on the MNA Board for a future term, please email Liz Moore and the Governance Committee: